The short answer
Eka Care is a large health app built around your ABHA: records, family profiles, vitals trackers, an AI health bot and doctor bookings. Ayu is a small, focused app that reads your prescriptions and reports and turns them into a medical history you can search and question. Want one app that does many health jobs? Eka Care. Want your paper made readable, with no ads? Ayu.
Disclosure first: we make Ayu, so we are not neutral. We rewrote this page on 3 October 2026 because the earlier version made claims about both apps that we could not back up. Everything about Eka Care below comes from its own store listings, website and privacy policy, plus screens we captured on a test phone while logged in, all read on that date.
- Pick Eka Care if you want an ABHA card, family profiles, trackers for BP, glucose and sleep, and appointment booking in one place.
- Pick Ayu if you want each prescription read into medicines, doctor and date, placed on a timeline, with no ads.
Key takeaways
- Eka Care does far more than store records. Its listing covers ABHA, family profiles, trackers, an AI HealthBot and bookings.
- Ayu does fewer jobs: it reads documents, builds a Medical History and answers questions from your own records.
- Eka Care is the bigger and older app (on Google Play since April 2021, 10 million+ installs). Ayu is newer and smaller (on Play since March 2025).
- Google Play marks Eka Care as containing ads, and on our test phone on 3 October 2026 its free home screen showed a block labelled "Advertisement". Ayu has no ads and will not add them.
- ABHA is the clearest gap: Eka Care offers it today, Ayu does not (planned for November 2026).
Eka Care vs Ayu at a glance
| Eka Care | Ayu | |
|---|---|---|
| Company | Orbi Health Pvt Ltd, Bengaluru | Ayu, India |
| On Google Play since | 24 April 2021 | 16 March 2025 |
| Installs (Play) | 10 million+ | A newer, smaller app |
| Star rating | 4.4 on Google Play, 4.7 on the App Store | 4.1 on Google Play |
| ABHA | Create an ABHA card in the app. Listed on ABDM's PHR partner page (18 October 2021) | Not live as of 3 October 2026. ABHA creation and linking inside Ayu is planned for November 2026 |
| Family | Individual profiles for family members | One person on the free app. Family profiles are the one paid plan, from ₹99 a month |
| Adding records | Store records, prescriptions and diagnostic reports; its site describes AI-powered OCR | Camera, or photos and PDFs you upload |
| Reading what is inside | "Smart actionable insights" on reports, per its listing. Did not read our handwritten prescription (our test, Oct 2026) | AI reads prescriptions, lab reports, scans, discharge summaries and bills, and sorts them by type, date and doctor |
| Trackers | BMI, BP, glucose, period, sleep, heart rate by camera; syncs with Health Connect | A blood-sugar log; ask Ayu to chart a value such as blood sugar or HbA1c over time |
| AI | AI HealthBot, health-risk and symptom assessments (listing) | "Ask Ayu" chat that draws on your own records and can show which documents it used. Not medical advice |
| Doctor bookings | Appointment and token booking | Only if your clinic uses Ayu and you scan its QR code |
| Sharing | With providers, by ABHA consent; a "share with all my doctors" setting | A link or QR code for a document that expires in 30 minutes |
| App languages | App Store lists English, Hindi and Kannada | 9: English, Hindi, Marathi, Tamil, Telugu, Kannada, Malayalam, Bengali, Gujarati |
| Ads | Play marks it as ad-supported; a block labelled "Advertisement" appeared on its free home screen on our test phone | Ayu has no ads and will not add them |
| Price | Free app; Eka Pass at ₹49 a month or ₹449 a year (seen in the app on 3 Oct 2026); Play lists in-app purchases of ₹49 to ₹449 per item | Ayu is free to use. The only thing Ayu charges for is the family plan, from ₹99 a month, which adds profiles for family members |
Eka Care rows are its own claims from the pages in the references, read on 3 October 2026. "Not mentioned" means we did not find it there, not that the feature is missing.
What each app is built for
Eka Care. The consumer app (Google Play name "Eka: Health AI, ABHA, Records") is published by Orbi Health Private Limited, Bengaluru. It first appeared on Play on 24 April 2021. Its listing calls it a connected healthcare platform and a "one-stop solution for all your family's health needs". That is the vendor's description, not ours. The company also sells software to doctors, which is a separate app we do not cover here.
The pages we read suggest what the business sells around the app. There is a paid pass inside the app (Eka Pass, ₹49 a month or ₹449 a year on our test phone), in-app purchases of ₹49 to ₹449 per item on Play, and a separate Health Cover on the plans page. Google Play also marks the app as ad-supported, and we saw an ad block on the free home screen. So the locker sits inside a broader consumer health product that is paid for in several ways.
Ayu. Ayu is a medical records app from a small team. It has been on Google Play since 16 March 2025 and the build we describe is version 0.2.12. It does one main job: it reads the documents you give it, sorts them, and lets you search and question them. It has no ads and will not add them. Ayu is free to use.
Feature by feature
Getting records in
Eka Care's Google Play listing says you can store medical records, prescriptions and diagnostic reports. Its patient page describes "AI-powered OCR for automatic digitization". We did not find a camera-scan flow described step by step on those pages. On our test phone the Records tab has an "Upload" button. We uploaded handwritten prescriptions there ourselves in October 2026 (see the next section for what happened). Eka Care's home also offers to sync medical records from Gmail (see the first-launch section below).
In Ayu you scan with the camera, or upload photos and PDFs. Ayu then reads each file and sorts it by type, date and doctor. The types it handles are prescriptions, lab reports, scans, discharge summaries and bills. Each uploaded document also gets a plain-language summary.
Reading what is inside
Eka Care's listing screenshots show "smart actionable insights" on reports, including a haemoglobin value set against a population chart. That is the vendor's own example. It describes lab values. Handwriting is a separate question, and we tested it. We uploaded handwritten prescriptions to Eka Care ourselves in October 2026. In our test it did not read the handwriting: it kept the image as a file, without pulling out the medicines, doses or doctor. We ran the same kind of test on DRiefcase and Health-e, and none of those apps read the handwriting either. Apps change; try one of your own prescriptions.
Along the way each app offered us something to buy. On Eka Care it was an Eka Pass offer on opening and an ad block on the free home screen; DRiefcase showed a Lab Test tile, a paid doctor-consult banner and third-party ads; Health-e led its home screen with lab-test booking and discounted packages.
Ayu's AI is built to read handwritten as well as printed prescriptions. It can still get a word or a dose wrong, so check the extracted details against the original, which stays in the app. We give no accuracy figure because we do not have one we can stand behind.
Finding a record later
Ayu has a Documents tab and a search by name, doctor or hospital. Inside Medical History, you can also search by words, and the matching forgives spelling slips. There are no filters.
Eka Care's pages show a records list (the Play screenshot shows one with a COVID certificate). We did not find a description of how search works, so we cannot compare it fairly.
The medical history view
This is the part of Ayu we think is most different, so here it is in motion. Ayu groups records under months, newest first. A month strip sits above the list. As you scroll, the strip moves to the month you are reading, and tapping a month jumps the list there. There is also a year view.
AI groups related documents, such as a prescription, a report and a scan from the same illness, into one "event". It can get this wrong, so you can open the documents to check.
Finding a record: a list versus a timeline
Eka Care

Eka Care's Records tab on an empty account: a search box, four shortcuts and an Upload button. We did not upload a record, so we did not see a month-by-month history.
Ayu
Ayu's Medical History: the list scrolls and the month strip follows.
Ask the AI: HealthBot and Ask Ayu
Both apps offer an AI you can talk to. We describe each only from its own sources.
Eka Care. Its Play listing describes an "AI-Powered HealthBot" with "insights from your medical records", plus AI health-risk and symptom assessments. That is the listing's claim. We did not open the bot on our test phone, and we cannot say how accurate it is or what it will and will not answer.
Ayu. You ask questions in plain language and answers draw on your own records. The chat can show its Sources, meaning which of your documents it used. You can attach up to three photos, files or items from your own history to a question. Say your blood sugar and Ayu offers a card to save the reading with the meal type (sugar only). You can ask it to chart a value such as blood sugar or HbA1c over time, and ask it to set medicine reminders and pick which medicines in the chat. There is a mic for dictating, and a long-press on an answer reads it aloud. Chat asks for your consent to AI features first, and it needs an internet connection. Answers are not medical advice.
Sharing with a doctor
Eka Care's listing says you can "easily share them with healthcare providers". One Play screenshot shows a "Share with all my doctors" toggle, and the sharing runs on ABHA consent. If your doctor's clinic already uses Eka Care, that may be the smoothest route.
In Ayu, you share a document with a link or a QR code that expires in 30 minutes. It is per document, not an open door to your whole history.
Reminders and tracking
Eka Care is clearly stronger here. Its listing names a medication tracker with reminders, and trackers for BMI, BP, glucose, period and sleep. It also lists a camera-based heart-rate monitor, and it says it syncs with Health Connect and Google Fit or takes manual entries.
Ayu has medicine reminders created from a prescription, and a blood-sugar log. You can ask Ayu to chart a value over time. It has no BP, weight or sleep tracker.
Family
Eka Care's listing says you can create digital health profiles for yourself and your family. It does not state a limit. Ayu is one person on the free app. Family profiles are the one paid plan, from ₹99 a month. If you manage records for parents and children in one place, Eka Care's profiles are a real reason to choose it.
ABHA and hospital counters
Eka Care's listing says you can generate an ABHA card or ABHA number in the app, and ABDM's PHR partner page lists Orbi Health Private Limited with an integration completion date of 18 October 2021. Its login screen also offers "Continue with ABHA" and a "Get Appointment Token" shortcut for ABDM-enabled facilities.
Ayu: not live as of 3 October 2026. ABHA creation and linking inside Ayu is planned for November 2026. If you need to use an ABHA at a hospital counter today, use an app that has it. Our guides cover ABHA Health ID in India and ABHA login and card problems.
Languages
The App Store lists Eka Care in English, Hindi and Kannada. Its home page mentions 15+ Indian languages, but that refers to its doctor consult and scribe products, not the consumer app, so we are not counting it. Ayu's app comes in nine languages: English, Hindi, Marathi, Tamil, Telugu, Kannada, Malayalam, Bengali and Gujarati.
Opening Eka Care for the first time
We installed Eka Care (version 5.6.0) on a Redmi Note 10 test phone on 3 October 2026, first looked at the sign-in screen, then logged in with a test account that had no records in it. So the screens below show the home screen and an empty Records tab, not an uploaded record, the HealthBot or the ABHA and Profile tabs. Our handwritten-prescription upload was a separate test, described under "Reading what is inside".
Before login. A purple screen with an illustration, a "Get Appointment Token" banner for ABDM-enabled facilities, and the line "75 Cr+ Indians created their ABHA". Below are three ways in: Continue with ABHA, Continue with Google, and continue with a mobile number. There is no way to look around without signing in, at least from this first screen.
After login. On our test phone the first thing shown was a full-screen Eka Pass offer, ahead of any records. It lists easy tracking of body vitals, smart insights on medical records, a personal AI health companion and an "Ad-Free Experience". The prices on it were ₹49 a month or ₹449 a year. That confirms the Eka Pass price from inside the app. Closing the offer shows the free home screen: an "Eka Pass: Buy now" bar, shortcuts for Heart Rate, Trackers and Create ABHA, and a block labelled "Advertisement" carrying a third-party app ad. Further down are a heart-rate check, an ABHA prompt, an offer to import medical records from Gmail, a self-assessment for health risks and a BMI calculator. The bottom tabs are Home, Records, ABHA and Profile. On the Records tab, Insights and Secret Vault are shown with a lock icon; we did not tap them, so we cannot say what the lock means.

Eka Care on our test phone, from first launch to the Records tab

1 First launch
Sign-in options first: ABHA, Google or mobile number

2 First screen after login
An Eka Pass offer at Rs 49 a month or Rs 449 a year, listing an Ad-Free Experience

3 Home, top
Shortcuts for Heart Rate, Trackers and Create ABHA, and a block labelled Advertisement

4 Home, scrolled
An offer to sync medical records from Gmail

5 Records tab
Empty account; Insights and Secret Vault shown with a lock icon

6 Insights (from its Play listing)
We did not open Insights; this is the listing's picture of one
What the app asks for. From the manifest of the file on our test phone, Eka Care's app declares 34 permissions (what it can ask for, not what you grant). They include camera, microphone, precise and approximate location, notifications, storage and Health Connect heart-rate and step reads. It is a 99.1 MB install file. A declared permission is not proof it is used, and a broad app that does trackers and a heart-rate monitor may have reasons for many of them. It is simply a longer list than a records-only app needs.
Ayu asks you to consent to AI features before chat works, and asks to use the camera when you scan.
Privacy and your data
| Eka Care | Ayu | |
|---|---|---|
| Third parties | Its policy says it shares personal information with contractors, service providers and other third parties for analytics and communications, and does not disclose it to third parties for their own model training | AI features send document content to AI providers, with your consent |
| Play data-safety declaration | Lists health info, device IDs, user IDs, voice recordings and app interactions among data shared. Collected data includes photos and videos, location, name, phone and email | See the Ayu listing |
| Ads | Play marks the app as ad-supported | Ayu has no ads and will not add them |
| Encryption | Encrypted in transit and stored encrypted at rest (its policy) | Encrypted in transit and at rest |
| Where data is stored | Its policy says the company is registered in Bangalore and keeps servers there, and does not list every location | Google Cloud servers in Mumbai, India (Ayu's privacy policy) |
| Deleting your account | Email privacy@orbi.health. The policy says it keeps a record that the data existed and was erased, with no clinical content | From inside the app |
Price and what is being sold to you
Eka Care. The app is free to install. Google Play lists in-app purchases of ₹49 to ₹449 per item, and the app itself offers Eka Pass. The plans page also sells a Health Cover at ₹590 and ₹1,099 a month (with 10% off if you pay yearly). That is an insurance-style product, separate from the records locker.
Eka Pass, as seen in the app. On our test phone the first screen after login was a full-screen Eka Pass offer at ₹49 a month or ₹449 a year. Its benefits list includes an "Ad-Free Experience", and the free home screen showed a block labelled "Advertisement" on 3 October 2026.
Ayu. Ayu is free to use. The only thing Ayu charges for is the family plan, from ₹99 a month, which adds profiles for family members. Ayu has no ads and will not add them.
What recent reviews say about Eka Care
We read the 40 newest Play reviews available on 3 October 2026, dated 24 February to 18 September 2026. About half of the sample (21 of 40) are one-star, which is common for the newest reviews of any app. Eka Care's overall Play rating is 4.4, so read this as a list of things to check, not a verdict. Many of these reviews are about clinic bookings, not the records locker.
- Booking and navigation (about 9 of 40): appointments hard to find, book or cancel, and a family member booked under the account holder's name. One reviewer wrote, "can't see my appointments. confusing UI" (1 star, 21 August 2026).
- Paid features (about 5 of 40): insights saying no record found, pushes to buy premium, refunds and support hard to reach.
- Login and OTP (about 4 of 40): failures and repeated re-verification.
- Reports not loading (about 3 of 40).
- Notifications: "Too many annoying notifications" (1 star, 18 September 2026).
- Consent: one reviewer said a doctor created an account for them without consent and the app would not delete it. It is one review, so we treat it as a question to ask, not a finding.
For Ayu we are not the right people to summarise our own reviews. Open the Ayu listing and read the newest ones yourself.
Real-life scenarios
An elderly parent with three specialists. If the specialists are in connected hospitals and you want one family account, Eka Care's family profiles and ABHA are built for this. If the papers are a pile of printed slips from different clinics, Ayu reads each one and groups related visits into events on a timeline. On the free app Ayu is one person per account, so a parent would need their own account, or the family plan (from ₹99 a month), which adds profiles for family members.
Someone with diabetes tracking sugar. Eka Care lists a glucose tracker, Health Connect sync and a camera heart-rate monitor, so it covers more kinds of readings. Ayu has a blood-sugar log, and you can say a reading in chat to save it with the meal type, or ask for a chart of blood sugar or HbA1c over time. If sugar is the main thing you track, Ayu may be enough. If you also track BP and sleep, Eka Care covers more.
A government-hospital OPD visit. If the hospital uses ABDM tokens, Eka Care's first screen shows a "Get Appointment Token" shortcut and an ABHA sign-in. Ayu has no ABHA yet. For booking at a hospital counter today, Eka Care fits better.
Switching phones. Ayu keeps your records on your account in the cloud, and recently opened ones are cached on the phone, so they come back when you change phones. For Eka Care we did not find a plain statement about moving to a new phone, so test it with a login on a second device.
Where Eka Care is stronger
- ABHA today. Create your ABHA card inside the app. Ayu has no ABHA yet.
- Family profiles. Ayu is one person on the free app; family profiles are its one paid plan, from ₹99 a month.
- Much more than records. Trackers for BMI, BP, glucose, periods and sleep, a camera heart-rate monitor, Health Connect sync, an AI HealthBot and risk assessments.
- Doctor bookings. Appointments and tokens with clinics that use Eka Care's doctor software.
- Scale and age. 10 million+ installs and a Play listing since 2021. Ayu is far smaller and newer.
What each app is built around
Eka Care

Eka Care's home offers a Smart Health Check and body-vitals tools such as a BMI calculator. Its listing also shows BP, glucose and sleep trackers. Ayu has nothing like this.
Ayu



Ayu stays on one job: your records, readable.
- 1 Your documents
- 2 In date order
- 3 Ask what they say
Where Ayu is stronger
- No ads, and free to use. Ayu has no ads and will not add them. Eka Care's Play listing marks it as ad-supported, and on our test phone a pass offer opened the app and an ad block sat on the home screen.
- It is built to read handwriting. In our test Eka Care kept a handwritten prescription as an image file without reading it. Ayu attempts handwritten as well as printed prescriptions: medicines, timing, doctor, clinic and date, not only lab values. Check the result against the original.
- A history in date order. Visits sit on a Medical History timeline grouped by month, with related documents grouped into events.
- Chat that shows its sources. Ask Ayu can show which of your documents an answer used.
- Nine app languages against the three listed for Eka Care on the App Store.
- Short-lived sharing. A document link or QR code expires in 30 minutes.
Which should you choose
- You want ABHA, family profiles, trackers and bookings in one app: Eka Care.
- Your doctor's clinic already uses Eka Care: Eka Care. Your prescriptions may arrive in the app on their own.
- You have a stack of paper from different clinics and want it readable and in order: Ayu.
- You dislike ads and upsells around health data: Ayu.
- You want the widest set of trackers: Eka Care.
- Both: you can keep Eka Care for ABHA and bookings and use Ayu for reading your papers.
More comparisons: Eka Care alternatives in India, DRiefcase vs Eka Care, DRiefcase vs Ayu, the ABHA app vs Ayu, the best app to store medical records in India and our round-up of PHR apps in India. For doctors, see AI prescription software in India.
Watch it in under a minute: each Ayu feature has its own short video and guide, including the medical history timeline, scanning documents and sharing with your doctor. See all 15 Ayu tutorials.
Frequently Asked Questions
Common questions about Eka Care and Ayu
Disclaimer
This comparison is written by the team that builds Ayu. Facts about Eka Care come from its own public pages and store listings read on 3 October 2026, plus screens and a permission list from our test phone, and may have changed since. Review themes come from a small sample of recent Play reviews. Nothing here is medical advice; always confirm medicines and doses with your doctor and the original prescription.