Ayu Health
App Comparison

DRiefcase vs Eka Care: Which Health Locker Wins?

DRiefcase vs Eka Care: Which Health Locker Wins? thumbnail
By Ayu Health Editorial Team
36 min read

The short answer

Pick DRiefcase if you want a records locker with ABHA, family profiles and upload by WhatsApp or email, and no in-app purchases on Play. Pick Eka Care if you want vitals trackers, AI insights and doctor appointments around the locker. Both are ABDM-listed PHR apps, both have 10 million+ Play installs, and both carry ads. On our test phone, third-party ads showed on DRiefcase's home screen and on Eka Care's free home screen.

Disclosure: this page is written by the team behind Ayu, a medical records app. Ayu is not one of the apps compared here. Everything about DRiefcase and Eka Care below comes from their store listings, websites, privacy policies, the ABDM partner page, screens we captured while logged in on a test phone and a small sample of recent Play reviews, all read on 3 October 2026. Where we could not confirm something, we say so. The brand writes its name "DRiefcase"; you will also see "Driefcase".

Key takeaways

  • Both apps are free to download. DRiefcase lists no in-app purchases on Play; Eka Care lists items from ₹49 to ₹449.
  • Both say you can create an ABHA and keep family profiles. We logged in to both on a test phone, but we did not create an ABHA or add family members, so we could not test those claims.
  • On our test phone on 3 October 2026, DRiefcase showed third-party ads on its home, ABHA and More screens. Eka Care opened on a full-screen Eka Pass offer (₹49 a month or ₹449 a year), then showed a block labelled "Advertisement" on its free home screen.
  • DRiefcase is the narrower app. Its screens are about filing, finding and sharing records. Eka Care adds trackers, AI and bookings.
  • Their privacy policies differ in wording. DRiefcase's allows anonymised data to go to contracted third parties for "analysis, monetization, training and modelling". Eka Care's says it does not disclose data to third parties for their own model training.
  • Neither is clearly better. It depends on which of these jobs you actually need done.

Pick DRiefcase if:

  • the job is filing papers and getting a hospital OPD token with an ABHA QR code;
  • you want to send records in by WhatsApp or email;
  • you want the fewest purchase prompts inside the app.

Pick Eka Care if:

  • you want to log blood pressure, glucose and sleep next to your records;
  • you want to book doctors in the same app;
  • you want AI insights on reports and a medication tracker with reminders.

At a glance

DRiefcaseEka Care
CompanyDRiefcase Health-Tech Pvt Ltd, MumbaiOrbi Health Pvt Ltd, Bengaluru
Listed on ABDM's PHR partner pageIntegration completed 6 August 2021Integration completed 18 October 2021
Play installs10 million+10 million+
Play star rating4.54.4
App Store star rating4.64.7
Play first released15 October 201624 April 2021
Last Play update27 August 2026 (version 6.05)24 August 2026 (version 5.5.8)
ABHAIts listing says you can create an ABHA and link recordsIts listing says you can generate an ABHA or ABHA number
Family"Profiles of all family members within a single account"Profiles for yourself and your family, per its listing
Ways to add recordsUpload in the app, send to its WhatsApp number, or email a dedicated addressStore records, prescriptions and reports; its pages do not detail the upload routes
AI or OCRIts pages describe arranging, indexing and tagging. They do not mention reading values from a documentIts site says AI-powered OCR digitises uploads; its listing mentions an AI HealthBot and report insights
Handwritten prescriptionsDid not read ours (our test, Oct 2026)Did not read ours (our test, Oct 2026)
TrackersNot mentioned on its pagesBMI, blood pressure, glucose, period, sleep, heart rate and medication trackers
BookingsNot on its consumer listing; reviews mention hospital OPD tokens through an ABHA QR codeDoctor appointments and token booking appear in its screenshots, first screen and reviews
App languages (iOS)EnglishEnglish, Hindi, Kannada
PriceApp is free; no in-app purchases on Play. Paid services such as Scan at Home at ₹1,000 in selected cities. A banner on its home screen offers doctor consults at ₹199 a yearApp is free; Eka Pass shown in the app at ₹49 a month or ₹449 a year; Play lists in-app purchases from ₹49 to ₹449 per item. Its plans page shows a Health Cover product at ₹590 and ₹1,099 a month
AdsPlay marks it "Contains ads". On our test phone, third-party ads showed on the home, ABHA and More screensPlay marks it "Contains ads". On our test phone, a block labelled "Advertisement" showed on the free home screen. Its Eka Pass offer lists "Ad-Free Experience"
DeletionEmail care@driefcase.comEmail privacy@orbi.health

These are the vendors' own claims and store data read on 3 October 2026. "Not mentioned" means we did not find it on those pages, not that the feature is missing. Ratings and installs move daily.

What each app is built for

DRiefcase is made by DRiefcase Health-Tech Private Limited, with an address in Dhobi Talao, Mumbai. Its About page names Harsh Parikh and Sohit Kapoor as co-founders and calls it "India's first ABDM integrated PHR platform". That is the company's own claim; we did not verify "first". The page does not give a founding year. What we can confirm from store data is that the Android app first appeared on Play on 15 October 2016.

The business behind it has two sides. The consumer app is the health locker this page is about. A separate product for clinics and small hospitals, DRIEFCASE Connect, and a doctors-only app exist as well. Paid services on its site include Scan at Home, Pick up and Drop and a Digital Backup on flash drive or CD. In short, its revenue story is services and clinic software, not a records subscription we could find.

Eka Care is the consumer app of Orbi Health Private Limited, Bengaluru. Its Play listing calls it a connected healthcare platform and a "one-stop solution for all your family's health needs". Its pages do not state a founding year or founders; Play shows a first release of 24 April 2021. The company also sells tools to doctors, which is a separate product from the app compared here.

The consumer app mixes several jobs. It keeps records, creates an ABHA card, tracks vitals, offers AI features and shows appointment booking. Its plans page also shows a Health Cover product, which is insurance-style rather than part of the locker. Play lists in-app purchases and a promotional screenshot for a premium pass. So Eka Care's commercial model has more moving parts than DRiefcase's: premium passes, cover plans and doctor services sit around the free app.

Neither company is a government body. Both appear on the National Health Authority's list of PHR app partners, which means each completed an integration with the ABDM system. That is a technical listing, not an endorsement of any feature or of data handling. Our ABHA Health ID guide explains the official side.

Feature by feature

Getting records in

DRiefcase's listing says you can upload documents in the app, send them to its WhatsApp number, or mail them to a dedicated email address given to each user. That second route suits records that arrive as PDFs from a lab. Its pages describe records being arranged, indexed and tagged by doctor, type, date and hospital.

Eka Care's pages say you can store medical records, prescriptions and diagnostic reports. Its website says AI-powered OCR digitises uploaded records. Its pages do not list a WhatsApp or email route, and they do not detail camera versus gallery upload. Absence from the pages is not proof the app lacks them.

Getting records in: DRiefcase upload screen and Eka Care records list

DRiefcase

DRiefcase Play Store screenshot showing the upload document screen

Upload screen, captioned 'Upload your health records via Email or WhatsApp'.

Eka Care

Eka Care Play Store screenshot titled Store Medical Records, with a records list and a share-with-all-my-doctors switch

Records list captioned 'Store Medical Records', with a COVID certificate and a share switch.

Left: DRiefcase, Google Play listing, read on 3 Oct 2026 (source). Right: Eka Care, Google Play listing, read on 3 Oct 2026 (source). Neither is an Ayu screen.

Reading what is inside a document

This is where the two sets of pages differ most. DRiefcase's pages talk about organising: tags, filters, indexing. They do not mention reading the values on a lab report or the medicines on a prescription. Eka Care's site says AI-powered OCR digitises uploads, and its listing shows a "Health Insights" screen that places a haemoglobin value against a population distribution chart.

We uploaded handwritten prescriptions to DRiefcase and Eka Care ourselves in October 2026. In our test, neither read the handwriting: each kept the image as a file, without pulling out the medicines, doses or doctor. That holds even for Eka Care, whose site mentions AI-powered OCR. Apps change; try one of your own prescriptions. We did not test how accurately either app reads printed lab reports, and neither page gives accuracy figures, so check any extracted value against the original.

Along the way each app offered us something to buy: on our test phone DRiefcase showed a Lab Test tile, a paid doctor-consult banner and third-party ads, and Eka Care opened with an Eka Pass offer and showed an ad on the free home screen.

Finding a record later

DRiefcase's listing has a screenshot captioned "Find your health records in seconds" that shows filtering by doctor, lab, family member and document type, plus a search box. That filter-first design is the core of the app.

Eka Care's records list shows each document with a share switch. Its listing does not describe filters or search in the text we read, so we cannot say how it handles a library of hundreds of files.

Finding and reading records: DRiefcase filters and Eka Care insights

DRiefcase

DRiefcase Play Store screenshot showing filters by doctor, lab, family member and type, and a search box

Filters for doctor, lab, family member and type, plus search.

Eka Care

Eka Care Play Store screenshot titled Health Insights, showing a haemoglobin value against a population distribution chart

'Health Insights': a haemoglobin value placed on a population chart.

Left: DRiefcase, Google Play listing, read on 3 Oct 2026 (source). Right: Eka Care, Google Play listing, read on 3 Oct 2026 (source). Neither is an Ayu screen.

Medical history view

Neither listing describes a month-by-month timeline of your health. DRiefcase presents a list you narrow with filters. Eka Care presents a records list plus a separate vitals area and insights. If a single chronological story of your care matters to you, check how each app orders a mixed set of reports, prescriptions and bills before you commit.

Sharing with a doctor

DRiefcase's listing says you can share digital records with doctors, hospitals and clinics, diagnostic labs, TPAs and health insurers. Its sharing screenshot offers "Share as attachment" and "Share through DRiefcase", and its listing mentions consent over ABDM.

Eka Care's listing says you can share records with healthcare providers and mentions ABHA consent. Its records screenshot has a "Share with all my doctors" switch. A switch that shares everything with every doctor is convenient, and it is also one to read carefully before turning on. We did not test what a doctor sees on the other end for either app.

Reminders and tracking

DRiefcase's listing says you can set reminders for a doctor visit, refilling medicines and a vaccination appointment. It does not mention vitals trackers.

Eka Care's listing is the stronger one here. It names trackers for BMI, blood pressure, glucose, period, sleep, heart rate and medication, a medication tracker with reminders, a camera-based heart-rate screen, and sync with Health Connect and Google Fit or manual entry. All of these are the vendor's claims; we did not log vitals. Its listing also mentions AI health-risk and symptom assessments.

Family

Both listings say family members can be kept in one account. DRiefcase: "profiles of all family members within a single account". Eka Care: digital health profiles "for yourself and your family". Neither page states a limit on the number of profiles. One Eka Care review in our sample says a family member's booking landed under the account holder's name, so test the booking flow if you will use it for a parent.

ABHA and hospital counters

Both first screens put ABHA and hospital tokens in front of you. Eka Care's first screen has a "Get Appointment Token" banner for ABDM-enabled facilities and a "Continue with ABHA" button. DRiefcase's login screen showed "Create Account Using Aadhaar" marked "Recommended", and the strongest praise in its recent reviews is about scanning a hospital's ABHA QR code to get an OPD token.

ABHA card: DRiefcase and Eka Care listing screens

DRiefcase

DRiefcase Play Store screenshot titled Create your ABHA ID, showing an ABHA card with a QR code

'Create your ABHA ID': an ABHA card with a QR code.

Eka Care

Eka Care Play Store screenshot titled Your ABHA Card, showing a QR card

'Your ABHA Card': create the card instantly, with a QR card.

Left: DRiefcase, Google Play listing, read on 3 Oct 2026 (source). Right: Eka Care, Google Play listing, read on 3 Oct 2026 (source). Neither is an Ayu screen.

We did not create an ABHA in either app, so we cannot compare the sign-up flows. For the official process and common login problems, see our ABHA login and card troubleshooting guide.

Languages

On iOS, DRiefcase lists English only and Eka Care lists English, Hindi and Kannada. On Android, DRiefcase's first screen on our test phone offered a "Select Language" sheet with Hindi and English. Eka Care's Android language list is not published in the store data we read, and its home page mention of 15+ Indian languages refers to doctor tools, not the consumer app. If your parent reads Tamil, Telugu or Bengali, neither page promises that.

Opening the apps for the first time

We installed both on a Redmi Note 10 on 3 October 2026, opened each, then logged in. The versions were 6.05 for DRiefcase and 5.6.0 for Eka Care. Eka Care's was newer than the 5.5.8 on its Play listing the same day. We kept to the home, tab and records screens. We did not upload a record, so we cannot show you the inside of either app's record list.

First launch on the same phone, before any login

DRiefcase

DRiefcase first launch on a test phone: a login screen asking for a mobile number, with a Select Language sheet offering Hindi and English

First launch: language sheet over a mobile-number login.

Eka Care

Eka Care first launch on a test phone: a purple screen with Get Appointment Token, Continue with ABHA, Continue with Google and a mobile-number option

First launch: appointment-token banner and three sign-in routes.

Left: DRiefcase, the app on our test phone, version 6.05, read on 3 Oct 2026 (source). Right: Eka Care, the app on our test phone, version 5.6.0, read on 3 Oct 2026 (source). Neither is an Ayu screen.

DRiefcase asks for a language first (Hindi or English), then a mobile number with an OTP. A box saying "I agree to receive important updates on WhatsApp" was ticked by default in our capture. Below it, a separate route offers account creation with Aadhaar, tagged "Recommended".

Eka Care opens on a purple screen with a banner, "Get Appointment Token at ABDM Enabled Facility". Below an illustration it offers "Continue with ABHA", "Continue with Google" and "Continue in with Mobile Number". A line above the buttons reads "75 Cr+ Indians created their ABHA"; that is on-screen marketing text, not a figure we checked. So you can sign in without a phone number if you use Google, which DRiefcase's first screen did not offer.

After login: the home screens

On our test phone on 3 October 2026, the first thing Eka Care showed after login was a full-screen "Prioritize health with Eka Pass" offer, before the home screen. It lists easy tracking of body vitals, smart insights on medical records, a personal AI health companion and an "Ad-Free Experience", at ₹49 a month or ₹449 a year. A close button sits at the top right. DRiefcase went straight to its home screen.

Home screens, logged in: DRiefcase and Eka Care

DRiefcase

DRiefcase home screen on a test phone: six tiles including Health Records (Locker), a third-party install ad, and a health coverage banner

Home: six tiles (Healthy Bytes, Lab Test, Health Records (Locker), ABHA, Teleconsults, Surgeries), a third-party install ad, then a health-coverage banner.

Eka Care

Eka Care home screen on a test phone after closing the Eka Pass offer: a Buy now bar, shortcuts, a block labelled Advertisement and a heart-rate card

Home after closing the offer: an Eka Pass 'Buy now' bar, shortcuts, a block labelled 'Advertisement', and Recently tracked.

Left: DRiefcase, the app on our test phone, version 6.05, read on 3 Oct 2026 (source). Right: Eka Care, the app on our test phone, version 5.6.0, read on 3 Oct 2026 (source). Neither is an Ayu screen.

DRiefcase's home has six tiles, and "Health Records (Locker)" is one of them. The others are Healthy Bytes, Lab Test, ABHA, Teleconsults and Surgeries. There is also a Blood Bank "Request" row and a "Quick OPD Registration: Scan QR" row. A third-party install advertisement sat directly below the tiles, followed by a banner for free health coverage of up to ₹5,00,000 a year. Further down we saw a heart-rate card, Healthy Bytes articles and a banner offering doctor consults at ₹199 a year. Third-party ads also appeared on the ABHA tab and at the bottom of the More tab. The specific ads varied by session. So more of the home screen is about services, coverage and articles than the locker itself. We did not capture the inside of the locker.

Eka Care's free home has an "Eka Pass: Buy now" bar, shortcuts for Heart Rate, Trackers and Create ABHA, a block labelled "Advertisement" and a "Recently tracked" row. Scrolling showed an offer to import medical records from Gmail and store them in the locker, an ABHA sign-up card, a self-assessment and a BMI tool. On the Records tab of our empty test account, there is a search box, four shortcuts (Insurance, All Vitals, Insights, Secret Vault) and an Upload button. Insights and Secret Vault are shown with a lock icon. We did not tap them, so we cannot say what the lock means.

Eka Care after login: the Eka Pass offer, then the Records tab

Eka Care

Eka Care full-screen Eka Pass offer on a test phone, with a list of benefits and monthly and yearly prices

The first screen after login: the Eka Pass offer, with 'Ad-Free Experience' listed as a benefit. Monthly ₹49, yearly ₹449.

Eka Care

Eka Care Records tab on a test phone: a search box, four shortcuts with Insights and Secret Vault showing a lock icon, and an Upload button

Records tab of an empty account: Insurance, All Vitals, Insights and Secret Vault (the last two with a lock icon), and Upload.

Left: Eka Care, the app on our test phone, version 5.6.0, read on 3 Oct 2026 (source). Right: Eka Care, the app on our test phone, version 5.6.0, read on 3 Oct 2026 (source). Neither is an Ayu screen.

DRiefcase: five screens captured while logged in

  1. DRiefcase home: six tiles, a third-party install ad and a health coverage banner

    1 Home, top

    Six tiles and a third-party ad below them

  2. DRiefcase home scrolled: health coverage banner, heart rate card and Healthy Bytes articles

    2 Home, scrolled

    Coverage banner, a heart-rate card and articles

  3. DRiefcase home scrolled further: Healthy Bytes articles and a doctor-consult banner at Rs 199 a year

    3 Home, further down

    A Rs 199/year doctor-consult banner and a vaccination chart link

  4. DRiefcase ABHA tab with a Link ABHA address prompt and a third-party advertisement below it

    4 ABHA tab

    A prompt to link your ABHA address, and an ad below it

  5. DRiefcase More tab: ABHA Profile, Fetch Records, My Family, OPD Token History and more, with an ad at the bottom

    5 More tab

    My Family, OPD Token History, Fetch Records and an ad at the bottom

Swipe to see all. DRiefcase: the app on our test phone, version 6.05, captured on 3 Oct 2026 (listing). These are DRiefcase's screens, not Ayu's.

Eka Care: six screens captured while logged in

  1. Eka Care full-screen Eka Pass offer with benefits and prices

    1 Eka Pass offer

    Shown first on opening; Rs 49 a month or Rs 449 a year

  2. Eka Care home with a Buy now bar, shortcuts and a block labelled Advertisement

    2 Home, top

    A block labelled 'Advertisement' on the free home

  3. Eka Care home scrolled: a camera heart-rate card and an ABHA sign-up card

    3 Home, scrolled

    Heart-rate card and a 'Create your ABHA' card

  4. Eka Care home scrolled: an offer to import medical records from Gmail, and a self assessment card

    4 Import from Gmail

    An offer to sync medical records from Gmail

  5. Eka Care home scrolled: Run Smart Health Check and a BMI calculator card

    5 Home, further down

    Smart Health Check and a BMI card

  6. Eka Care Records tab of an empty account with a search box, four shortcuts and an Upload button

    6 Records tab

    Insights and Secret Vault show a lock icon

Swipe to see all. Eka Care: the app on our test phone, version 5.6.0, captured on 3 Oct 2026 (listing). These are Eka Care's screens, not Ayu's.

The record screens themselves (what an uploaded file looks like, how sharing works) we did not capture, so the listing-based comparisons earlier in this post are still the vendors' own images and claims.

What the apps ask your phone for

We also read each installed app's manifest with Android's package tool on the same test phone. "Declared" means the permissions the app's manifest says it may ask to use. It does not mean the app used them, and Android still asks you before it grants the sensitive ones. The counts include permissions added by third-party code inside the app, such as ad and push-message libraries.

DRiefcaseEka Care
Version on our phone6.055.6.0
Installed size33.2 MB99.1 MB
Declared permissions3334
Notable permissions declaredCamera, microphone (record audio), fine and approximate location, read and write external storage, notifications, activity recognition, advertising ID, foreground serviceCamera, microphone (record audio), fine and approximate location, read and write external storage, notifications, advertising ID, schedule exact alarms, foreground service
Health Connect permissions declaredNoneRead heart rate, heart-rate variability, resting heart rate and steps (it also declares a write permission for heart rate)

Three things stand out, and we would not read more into them than this. First, the two lists overlap heavily: camera, microphone, location, storage, notifications and an advertising ID appear in both, which fits Play marking both as containing ads. Second, Eka Care declares Health Connect permissions and DRiefcase does not, which matches Eka Care's listing about syncing vitals. Third, DRiefcase declares activity recognition while its pages describe no step or activity feature, so we cannot tell what it is for. Eka Care is also about three times the installed size, which is plausible for an app with more features, but size alone proves nothing.

Privacy and your data

Read both policies before uploading anything sensitive. What we found on 3 October 2026:

DRiefcaseEka Care
Third partiesPolicy says anonymised data may go to contracted third parties for "analysis, monetization, training and modelling"Policy says it shares personal information with contractors and service providers for analytics and communications, and says it does not disclose to third parties for their own model training
AdsPolicy says cookies are used for offers and advertisements based on your interests, preferences and records; Play marks the app "Contains ads"Play marks the app "Contains ads"
Play data safety (developer-declared)Shares device IDs and personal info; collects app activity, app performance, files and documents, approximate location, health info, fitness info, photos and videos and financial info; encrypted in transit; deletion can be requestedShares device IDs, user IDs, health info, voice recordings, app interactions and crash logs; collects photos and videos, approximate and precise location, audio, email, name, address and phone. We could not capture its encryption and deletion lines
Where data is storedNot stated in the policy we readSays it maintains servers in Bengaluru; the policy does not list every location
EncryptionEncrypted in transit per the Play form; the policy text did not give a statement we could quotePolicy says data is encrypted in transmission and stored encrypted at rest
Deleting your accountEmail care@driefcase.com with the subject "ACCOUNT DELETION"; download your records first. Accounts dormant for two years or more may be deleted at the company's discretionEmail privacy@orbi.health. It keeps a record that data existed and was erased, with no clinical content

Where a policy and a store form can be read two ways, we give both. DRiefcase's policy allows anonymised data to be used for monetisation, and its Play form says personal info is shared. Eka Care's policy says it does not share for third-party model training, but its Play form declares sharing of health info and voice recordings. Those statements do not necessarily conflict: a policy can describe contractors while a form lists categories. Neither document tells you exactly who receives what, and neither company can honestly be described as unable to process your records. For the wider picture, see our guide to medical record security in India.

Practical steps either way: use a screen lock, upload only what you need, and know the deletion route before you start, not after.

Price and what is being sold to you

DRiefcase. The app is free and its listing mentions unlimited cloud storage. Play lists no in-app purchases. Paid services sit on its website: Scan at Home at ₹1,000 in selected cities, Pick up and Drop at ₹1,000 across India, a Digital Backup on flash drive or CD at ₹1,000, and a free "Get My Records" option. We found no subscription tiers on the pages we read. What is being sold is mainly physical digitisation services, plus the advertising and anonymised-data lines in its policy.

Eka Care. The app is free to download. Play lists in-app purchases from ₹49 to ₹449 per item. On our test phone on 3 October 2026, opening the app showed a full-screen Eka Pass offer at ₹49 a month or ₹449 a year, with "Ad-Free Experience" among the listed benefits. The same offer then stayed on the home screen as a "Buy now" bar. One Play listing screenshot also mentions a free health package worth ₹1,800 as a benefit; we did not check the pass terms beyond the prices on the offer screen. Its plans page shows a separate Health Cover product at ₹590 a month for a 5 lakh cover and ₹1,099 a month for 10 lakh, with 10 percent off for yearly payment. That is insurance-style, not the records locker. What is being sold here is a paid pass, optional cover plans and doctor services, around a free core.

If you only want somewhere to keep files, you can ignore every paid option in both apps. Expect to see offers either way: Eka Care showed its pass offer first and a pass bar on the home screen, and DRiefcase showed a coverage banner and a ₹199 a year doctor-consult banner on its home.

What recent Play reviews say

Play offers no filter by star rating, so our samples are small and only describe those samples. They are not the apps' overall record. Star ratings on Play are 4.5 for DRiefcase and 4.4 for Eka Care.

Eka Care. We read the 40 newest Play reviews, dated 24 February to 18 September 2026. 21 of the 40 were 1-star and one was 2-star. By hand, the themes were:

  • Appointments and booking, about 9 of 40. Cannot find appointments, cannot book or cancel, or a family member's booking lands under the account holder's name. One reads, "can't see my appointments. confusing UI" (1 star, 21 August 2026).
  • A paid plan not delivering, about 5 of 40. Insights saying no record was found, repeated prompts to buy, no refund, no way to reach support.
  • Login and OTP, about 4 of 40. Failed codes and repeated re-verification.
  • Reports not loading, about 3 of 40.
  • One each: too many notifications, and a user who says a doctor created their account without consent and the app would not delete it.
  • Praise. About 15 of 40 were short generic praise such as "good" or "nice". Several 5-star reviews praise a specific doctor or clinic, so the rating mixes the app with clinic experience.

The newest 40 skew negative against a 4.4 overall rating, so do not read them as typical. They do show where people who are unhappy get stuck.

DRiefcase. Complaint evidence is thin. We read its 40 newest reviews (all from 1 to 2 October 2026) plus 25 returned by Play's rating sort, mostly 5-star and dated 2020 to 2026. The newest 40 were mostly one to three words such as "good" or "ok". Four were 1-star ratings whose text was praise, and the vendor's replies asked those users to re-rate, which suggests accidental or prompted ratings. That is an observation, not a finding. One 5-star review from 3 July 2026 says, "But medical reports don't show up on this." It is a single review. The dominant praise theme in the 2026 reviews in the rating-sorted set was getting an OPD token by scanning a hospital's ABHA QR code, about 10 of those 25 between June and September 2026. Older reviews praise auto-tagging and quick retrieval. We found no detailed 1-star or 2-star complaint to rank, and we will not invent one.

Where DRiefcase is stronger

  • Hospital counters. The strongest praise in its recent reviews is getting an OPD token through an ABHA QR code.
  • More ways to get paper in. WhatsApp and email upload, plus paid pick-up and scanning services in selected cities or across India.
  • No in-app purchases on Play. It showed no full-screen purchase offer on our test phone, and Play lists no in-app purchases. Its home screen does carry third-party ads and service banners.
  • A lighter install. 33.2 MB on our phone against 99.1 MB.
  • Longer on the store. Android release in October 2016 against April 2021, and an earlier ABDM integration date: August 2021, two months before Eka Care's.
  • Simple scope. It is a locker. It does not try to be a clinic, a tracker and an insurer at once.
  • Fewer health-data permissions. It declares no Health Connect permissions, in our read of the manifest.

Where Eka Care is stronger

  • More than records. Trackers for BMI, blood pressure, glucose, period, sleep and heart rate, a camera heart-rate screen, and sync with Health Connect and Google Fit, per its listing.
  • AI. Its listing describes an AI HealthBot that gives insights from your records, and its site says uploads are digitised with AI-powered OCR. In our October 2026 test it did not read a handwritten prescription, as DRiefcase did not either.
  • Appointments. Booking is part of the first screen and appears in the screenshots and reviews. DRiefcase does not describe this on its consumer listing.
  • Medicine reminders. A medication tracker with reminders, per its listing.
  • Sign-in choices. ABHA, Google or mobile number on the first screen.
  • Languages on iOS. English, Hindi and Kannada, against English only for DRiefcase.
  • An ad-free option. Its Eka Pass offer lists "Ad-Free Experience" as a benefit, at ₹49 a month or ₹449 a year. DRiefcase did not show us an equivalent.
  • A clearer encryption sentence. Its privacy policy says data is encrypted in transmission and stored encrypted at rest, and that it does not disclose data to third parties for their own model training.

Five real-life situations

An elderly parent with three specialists. You want one place for family members and a quick way to find a cardiologist's report. DRiefcase's doctor, lab and type filters are built for that, and you can forward PDFs by WhatsApp. Eka Care is workable if the parent will also use trackers and can ignore the Eka Pass offer shown on opening, but test whether its list is easy to search once there are many files.

Someone tracking blood sugar. Eka Care names a glucose tracker, a medication tracker and reminders. DRiefcase does not mention trackers on its pages. For this job, Eka Care.

A government-hospital OPD visit. Both put ABHA tokens near the front. DRiefcase's reviews are full of token praise, and Eka Care's first screen has "Get Appointment Token". Whether either works depends on whether that hospital's counter supports ABDM scan-and-share, so ask first. Either is worth having installed with an ABHA before you go.

Switching phones. DRiefcase says records live in unlimited cloud storage under an account you sign into with a mobile number. For Eka Care, its policy mentions servers but we could not confirm how it restores records on a new phone. In both cases, sign in on the new phone before you wipe the old one and check that an old report opens.

Getting a second opinion. You need to send a doctor a set of records quickly. DRiefcase offers share as attachment or through its own link, and its listing mentions ABDM consent. Eka Care has a share switch for all your doctors and ABHA consent. Check what the receiving doctor actually sees.

Which should you choose

  • You need an OPD token at a hospital that uses ABHA QR codes, or want WhatsApp and email upload: DRiefcase.
  • You want trackers, AI insights and appointments in one app: Eka Care.
  • You want the fewest purchase prompts inside the app: DRiefcase. Play lists no in-app purchases for it, while Eka Care lists several.
  • You manage records for parents and children: both say they support family profiles. Test adding one family member in each.
  • You want the smallest install and fewest declared permissions: DRiefcase is about a third of the size and declares no Health Connect permissions.
  • You want blood-pressure, glucose or heart-rate logging: Eka Care.
  • Your priority is a clear data-storage statement: neither is perfect. Eka Care says its servers are in Bengaluru and DRiefcase does not say. Read both policies.
  • You want to start with an ABHA only: the official route is covered in our ABHA Health ID guide.

For a wider list, see our comparison of PHR apps in India and the roundup of the best app to store medical records.

If your records are mostly paper

If what you have is a drawer of prescriptions and lab reports, you may want something that reads them rather than files them. Ayu is a newer, smaller medical records app that we make. You scan with the camera or upload photos and PDFs, and Ayu's AI reads the documents and sorts them by type, date and doctor. Ayu's AI is built to read handwritten as well as printed prescriptions; it can still get a word or a dose wrong, so check the extracted details against the original, which stays in the app. Ayu is free to use. Ayu has no ads and will not add them. The only thing Ayu charges for is the family plan, from ₹99 a month, which adds profiles for family members; it is one person on the free app. ABHA is not live in Ayu as of 3 October 2026, so DRiefcase or Eka Care fits better if you need ABHA now.

For our own head-to-heads, see DRiefcase vs Ayu and Eka Care vs Ayu, and our guide to digitising medical records.

Frequently Asked Questions

Common questions about DRiefcase, Eka Care and health locker apps

Disclaimer

This comparison is written by the team that builds Ayu, a different medical records app, which has a stake in the answer. Facts about DRiefcase and Eka Care come from their public pages, store listings, a test phone and Play reviews read on 3 October 2026 and may have changed since. Store ratings and install counts move daily, and review counts are from small samples counted by hand. Nothing here is medical advice; always confirm medicines and doses with your doctor and the original prescription.

Every health decision starts with the right information — but it doesn't end there.

DRiefcase vs Eka Care compared on 3 Oct 2026: ABHA, family, AI, trackers, price, ads, privacy, app permissions and what recent Play reviews say.

Share this article:

Trending in App Comparison

DRiefcase vs Eka Care: Which Health Locker Wins? | Ayu